The first blog in English - Reisverslag uit Madrid, Spanje van Angela Buijs - WaarBenJij.nu The first blog in English - Reisverslag uit Madrid, Spanje van Angela Buijs - WaarBenJij.nu

The first blog in English

Door: Angela Buijs

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Angela

24 Februari 2015 | Spanje, Madrid

Hi dear people,

As you can see, I have written this blog in English. One of my purposes of my study abroad period here in Madrid is to improve my English. Maybe it is a little bit strange to improve your English in Spain, but all my lessons and conversations with teachers and other students are in English. This period is a change to work on my English skills. My English is not great, so I want to improve my English in this way. I hope that everybody likes my blog in English and understands my choice that I will write my blog sometimes in English. At this moment it is still a challenge to write my blog in English.

My last blog was the weekend of carnival in Holland. That weekend was a little bit difficult for me, because I missed some friends. I hope you have all had a good carnival and holiday. Next year I will be there to party!

Problem sets & exams
Unfortunately, I had no holiday.. Last week was a very busy and hard week. We had to make three problem sets and two exams. On Monday after school we started with the first problem set for Monetary Theory and Instruments. We did not understand anything of this problem set. We have looked at it for two hours without result.. It was demotivating and we were all disappointed. It was not our day. Thankfully, there is a day after Monday. Tuesday we made the problem set for Macroeconomics. It was a lot, but luckily we understood it. Around 0:00 o’clock I finished this problem set. I had also my first Spanish course and because of this it was a long day. Wednesday after our classes, we went to our teacher of Monetary Theory and Instruments for explanations regarding the problem set. After here explanations, we were able to make the problem set. We worked at school till 17:00 on this problem set. In the afternoon there was also a meeting for Statistics. Our teacher wanted to talk with Wendy and me about our performance. Wendy and I wondered why.. The only thing she really wanted to know was if we understood the material haha. In the evening, I started learning for my first exam on Friday. Thursday after school I went to the teacher for more explanations and the whole afternoon I studies. After my Spanish course in the evening I made the final preparations for the exam. Friday was the big day: My first exam. The exam was not difficult, but we had too little time. I cannot perform under the pressure of time… I think I failed the exam. I was disappointed, but I was also happy that it was weekend. Yesterday I also had an exam for Public Sector Economics. This exam was also not very difficult, but it was not a success. I do not know what is wrong with me, but I cannot succeed the things for school. It is difficult to deal with this, but I have done my best. Fortunately, the consequences are not so big if the results are bad.

Spanish course
The nice thing about last week was my Spanish course. Together with Wendy I will learn Spanish for twelve weeks (two evenings in a week) at a Spanish language school. We have classes with a maximum of five students and the school is not far away (twenty minutes by underground). Tuesday I had my first class and it was so much fun! We did some simple conversations. I learnt the pronunciation and some sentences like below:
- Yo me llamo Angela
- Yo vivo en Madrid
- Yo soy de Roosendaal, Hollanda
- Yo soy estudiante de economicas
- Yo tengo 21 años
- Yo hablo inglés, holandés, alemán y franchés

On Thursday I learnt the alphabet and we played memory. We had to match the right pictures with the right words and after it we had to spell the words. I learnt words like mesa (table), ventana (window), boligrafo (pen) etc. I really like the course. Tonight I have my next class and I am looking forward to learn more!

Weekend
Friday I was so tired. In the evening I was home alone. Wendy's boyfriend was in Madrid last weekend and they have spent time together. Boris had been out Friday night, but I had no energy to join him. I watched some programs on my laptop and I skyped with my parents, because I had no time for it last week. Saturday I slept longer and in the afternoon I went to Gran Vía. It was time for shopping. Later in the afternoon, I went to parque del Retiro with Boris. The park is beautiful and the weather was so nice. I really enjoyed the sun and the park. I enjoy so many little things here. In the evening I skyped with Fleur and I ate in a restaurant with Boris and Mario. Sunday I went to Basic Fit and learnt for my exam on Monday.

In more than two weeks my parents and sister are here! I am looking forward to it! I will show them everything and I want to hug them! A week after them, Anouk will visit me. All my visits come closer now. My parents, Corné and Diana have booked their flight and they will visit me in May. Also Wesley has booked his flight and he will visit me at the beginning of April. I really appreciate all my visits and I am looking forward to see everyone here in Madrid. I can’t wait!

Lots of love from Madrid

  • 24 Februari 2015 - 18:02

    Franca Van Kuijk:

    Leuk weer wat van je te horen , en dat het gelukt is om spaanse les te gaan volgen .
    Ik hoop alleen niet dat je volgende reisverslag in het spaans is , want dan liggen wij eruit natuurlijk
    Succes verder met alles wat je daar in Madrid doet en vooral veeel plezier

  • 24 Februari 2015 - 20:56

    Anouk:

    Well done zussie!!! Veel plezier daar xxx

  • 24 Februari 2015 - 21:44

    Ad Buijs:

    Weer een leuke blog alleen we hebben wat meer moeite met het lezen ervan, terwijl wij al weten wat je allemaal hebt meegemaakt. Het aftellen is begonnen en we zijn erg benieuwd naar wat je al in het Spaans kan, hopelijk niet het volgende blog. Geniet ervan KANJER!!!

  • 25 Februari 2015 - 22:25

    Diana :

    Toppie moppie! Een mooie blog! Ik kan niet wachten tot mei mar we spreken elkaar voor die tijd zeker nog wel knuffels van corne en diana

  • 26 Februari 2015 - 14:23

    Caminofrans:

    Ola Angela,
    Ik volg jouw :-)
    Gegroet,
    Caminofrans

  • 06 Maart 2015 - 14:51

    Rian Suijkerbuijk:

    Wow, bijna verslag gemist! Is goed te lezen hoor meis! Hoeft geen perfect engels te zijn om je te begrijpen, hoor!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Angela

Actief sinds 26 Dec. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 363
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9558

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2014 - 17 Juni 2014

Minor in Madrid

Landen bezocht: